The last few months in a nutshell

The whole journey began last year.  He decided he wanted to join the USAF, I said ok.  We tried to go officer but he didn’t get chosen, instead he enlisted.  He signed his life away for 6 years to the government.  In March, we got married and in April, he left for boot camp.  I should note that yes, this was fast, but we’ve been together for a little over 6 years already.

The next 8.5 weeks (the duration of BMT) were probably the toughest 8.5 weeks of my life.  I was alone, I rarely got mail, much less a phone call.  I was constantly worried and it didn’t help that the first phone call I got was utterly terrifying.  His MTI was tough, big, and kinda scary.  The first phone call is apparently always terrifying.  It sounds like they are on the verge of a nervous breakdown and their only purpose is to give you their address.  Well, 4 phone calls and 4 letters later (which made me cry every single time) I finally got to see him.  There is this weird level of pride that you get when you see your child/husband/significant other/wife/whatever march in those blues.  You start to get choked up at the stupidest things.

After that weekend, he was bussed to tech school because it wasn’t that far away.  His first week or so was details and in-processing.  They clean and go to briefings, they learn the ropes but don’t start classes right away.  At least I got to talk to him.  On class day #1 we found out where we being stationed in the last place in the world I wanted to go to… ok, maybe the second to last.  I can only hope that everyone else finds out as quickly as we do.  Although, knowing where you’re going and getting there are 2 very separate ideas.  The comfort of knowing where you’re going is the only consolation you’ll get.

After a month, I moved to his tech school, on my own dime, and not on his orders.  He wasn’t there long enough for me to get to move with.  So instead, I just moved to Texas.  I quit my job and packed my stuff up, found an apartment that would do a short-term lease with a copy of his military orders and drove across the country.  Since then we’ve seen each other almost every single day and we get to talk.  I decided not to get a job while I was here because I wouldn’t be here long enough, nor predictably enough.  I could have gotten a job serving or something but I’m kinda past that point in my life for right now and unemployment pays me about the same anyway.  Each state is different, mine allows for you to leave the state and still get unemployment.

We’re about 4 weeks from moving.  We don’t have our official orders yet.  I have a u-haul reserved for what I can only assume is the wrong week, which I can cancel without fee.  I have no idea what happens next but I’ll make it work.  We have a complicated moving situation because half of the stuff is in Texas and the other half is in Indiana.  So we’ll see how this whole thing pans out.  If all else fails, I trailer it back to Indiana and then north.

I realize my blog is kinda all over the place, let’s face it.  I’m a real person too.  But I’ve learned a few things about being attached to the military (even when you’re new).

  1. “Hurry up and wait.” – it’s kind of a joke but it’s real.
  2. If you must be a control freak, control what you can and flow with the rest.  You can’t change it and they don’t care who you are.  Not in a complete bad way, it’s just systematic.  Don’t throw sticks in the spokes it’ll get you nothing.
  3. Be nice to security forces, they’re people too and they’re just doing their job.
  4. Don’t plan too far in advance and like i said before, roll with it.
  5. Be grateful for the opportunity, even if it’s downright annoying sometimes.  They’re going to pay for you to live in places you’d never thought you could live in (or sometimes wanted to).  They give you insurance, a place to live, a steady paycheck and it’s not like we didn’t know what we were getting ourselves into before we signed up.  Overall, it’s a pretty sweet package.  They’ll even help you find a job and give you preference and education.  TAKE ADVANTAGE OF IT and enjoy it.

Everyone’s situation is different.  I had a career once, but I didn’t feel like doing the job anymore.  I switched to a job.  I have a college degree (well, 2 actually) and I’ll get another job.  It’s not that big of a deal.  We’ve learned to live on his check currently and me working or making any money is a bonus.  I know that this was a long blog post but I seem to be getting some new visitors from some very odd places (hello!!).  Recently, most of my posts have just been me being stressed out over extraneous stuff so I thought I’d revisit the actual military aspect of this whole thing.  No one cares that much about my life, I appreciate you dealing with it but let’s be honest… you’re looking for answers.  I was too, that’s how this whole thing started.

2 thoughts on “The last few months in a nutshell

  1. Love your blog — it helped me get through BMT just a few months behind your trials and tribulations! I'm so glad you finally put up your email address — now we're facebook buddies and we both have someone we can freak out to when freaking out to friends and family just doesn't seem appealing. Maybe in a few months we'll actually meet up. Even if not, I'm glad I had you to help me get through this phase of my life…now, if only my husband's flight would phase up…only we truly understand what that means!

  2. Just wanted to stop by and say I like your blog. Sounds a lot like what we're going through also. The hurry up and wait is so true!!! Lately ours have had to deal with trainings and them moving from week to week and you're totally right about dealing with what you can control. But thanks to you and your hubby, it's not an easy life, is it!?!

Leave a Reply

