flashback

So I was attempting to get some things put away today and found all 3 billion letters I wrote my husband during BMT.  Then I remembered what a disaster that was and how I’m glad that I never have to do it again. When I’m having a bad day, I read his letters.  I don’t know what he does with his letters.  People ask me all the time why I don’t join the air force.

Well, I’ll make you a list..

  • I’m bipolar
  • I have asthma
  • IM a planner, I don’t deal so well with other people being the planner
  • I have an issue with “going with the flow”.  I generally create my own path with a bulldozer.
  • I don’t want to be in the Air Force any more than I already am.  
  • There is a lot of red tape, I’m not interested.
  • I’m not skinny enough.

I think it would be cool to have a bunch of stripes and watch people stare at me as I walk by, but nah.

Anyway, I was recently reminded of the chaos of BMT over teh interwebz.  When he called to give me his address it was super bad news.  Apparently his cell phone died (never to be revived again) and he called me off someone else’s cell phone (yes, they’re legal at BMT these days).  He sounded like someone killed the dog.  He also gave me the wrong address.  I used about.com to get through a lot of fiasco’s because I didn’t really have anywhere to turn.  Even if I had somewhere to turn, I probably wouldn’t have.  In all honesty the depression I was spontaneously experiencing was overwhelmingly gripping.  I had a hard time doing anything.  I managed going to work but I didn’t want to go home.  I felt so bad for the dog because she would be alone for 12-14 hours a day because I was afraid to go home and be alone.  It all changed when a friend came to stay with me while her life was in turmoil.  She literally saved me and when she left, I kinda fell apart again.  I wish she could have stayed longer.  I received very few phone calls and letters and it was really hard.  I cried every time I got a letter and didn’t when I received a phone call.  Somehow I managed to make it through these phone calls without any issues.  I don’t even remember crying later, (except that first one).  We got paid in the wrong account, it took forever for me to get my DEERS information, we didn’t get visitor passes, it was a mess.

Anyway, for all of you who are handling a pending BMT thing or your SO is at BMT I’m going to re-post something for you.  I stole this from another website.  This is the information they will call you with but it’s really hard to visualize how the address looks.  You don’t get much time.  They literally get to tell you their address and hang up while someone is yelling in the background.  Tell them you love them, they’re gonna need it!

AB Last, First MI
xxx TRS / FLT xxx Dorm x-x (flight and dorm number depends on flight and dormitory assigned)
PSC # x
1015 Truemper St. Unit 36xxxx (the last 4 digits of Unit number depends on the squadron and dorm assigned)
Lackland AFB, TX 78236-6040

Anyway, I know a lot of you are going to boot camp or tech school, or whatever but let me tell you this… You’ll make it through.  A lot of us already have and we weren’t sure if we were going to or not.  It sucks, yes but you’ll make it… I promise.

Posted in BMT

5 thoughts on “flashback

  1. Oh, lol, no I'm totally done with the BMT game. There are a few people cruising around that here are about to send their husbands off. I'm just being helpful! Thanks for the thought tho. šŸ™‚

  2. I remember when Greg was in BMT. It was tough, we got married and a week later he was gone. I remember the first phone call, and I only got a few calls, and a few letters. I also remember how excited I was when I first saw him at his graduation and all that. Being a military wife is hard, especially if you've never been around it!

  3. When Lieutenant left for his field training, I wasn't allowed to talk to him at all. No phone calls. We wrote letters to each other, I wrote one every single day he was gone and he wrote me a few also. I have never checked the mail so much in my life.

Leave a Reply

