Social Obligation Scheduling

I read a lot of things on the internet.  I read blogs, forums, discussion boards, newspapers, magazines, etc.  I read a lot.  I’m also pretty much a hermit.  If I had my way my big thing for the day would be going out to dinner or lunch with my husband.  Ever since he joined the military and I moved to join him, my social calendar has exploded.  It’s gotten so bad that I have a calendar on my wall.  If it’s not on the calendar, I don’t remember.

Originally the calendar purchase was for Superman, he has a compulsion to cross out days on a calendar and I may have “accidentally” destroyed the last one in the move to Texas.  So when we finally got an apartment here, I went out and procured a new one… this time it’s a white board!  I hate paper calendars, they always end up tearing where the tack or nail is and the boxes aren’t big enough.  Plus you can’t really erase things well on paper calendars.  This magical calendar is the keeper of all work/social/appointments/etc.  And it’s busy.  Did I mention I’m a hermit by nature?

For example, I went Black Friday shopping.  If you haven’t read about this ordeal already, you should.  No matter how bad your day was, mine may have been worse.  But not only did I go shopping, I did it alone.  I always go alone unless I require additional hands or muscles.  It’s not that I don’t like other people.  I love other people and everyone that I’ve met here has been a hoot to hang out with.

Every weekend we end up going out on the town with guys from his shift.  Last night we had a going away party for one of the guys and his wife.  They’re PCSing out in like 2 days.  Our mode of transportation? Party Bus.  If you’ve never been on a party bus before, avoid it at all costs.  There is a TON of alcohol (BYOB) and drunkenness in a moving vehicle.  Ours was a school bus with pink rope lighting in it.  There was seating and tables.  Also, if you ever decide to do this game, DO NOT PUT EVERCLEAR IN ANY OF THE DRINKS.  We bar hopped, we had a blast, we went to a strip club, we got drunk, we puked.  bonus!  I feel like death warmed over and I seriously haven’t drank that much since probably my sophomore year of college.  My husband was a great DD for me, I got home with everything I left with.  I tried to sleep in the bathroom which is pretty standard for me when I overindulge.  He made sure I got to bed and tucked in, watered and advil’d.  I woke up this morning and the only thing I’m missing is my right contact, lol.  Somehow I realized that I still had contacts in this morning… except I only had one.  I searched my eye, eye lid, the corners of my eye, and poked myself in the eye countless times looking for my stupid contact.  Nope, it’s gone.. thank god they’re disposable.

Next on the social calendar, movie night with some of the ladies.

Being a hermit is so much cheaper than being a butterfly.  I’ll apologize now because this post has almost no point, I’m still hungover.  Hope your weekend was better than mine, lol.

5 thoughts on “Social Obligation Scheduling

  1. Ok, I giggled a lot when reading this. And we have a white board too. It is probably the most used thing in our house. We love it. It's right next to the fridge so we see it when we first come down in the morning. Definitely a great investment.

  2. That's hilarious! I'm in between. I like the hermit lifestyle…but I also love the butterfly lifestyle. I try to be in the middle…but it doesn't always work out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

