A Week of Failure

My weeks are really a 2 week cycle.  Every other week, Superman gets off work for 3 solid days, except the last one was cut short by training.  We’ve only gotten 2 of those kelly weeks thus far and I think I’m just missing him.  I feel like I haven’t really seen him and when I do, I end up falling asleep on the couch watching tv with him which is totally unproductive.  I’m still getting used to the scheduling of 24 hours on/24 hours off.  I can only imagine what 48on/72off is like.  I’ve heard about it, I know that they’ve got it going on in certain places but I just don’t know if I could handle it, especially in North Dakota where there is nowhere to go within the off duty day travel limit category.

My other failure is that I decided to make t-shirts and stuff.  Well, basically I started designing t-shirts out of sheer boredom and a necessity to be creative.  No, I haven’t sold any, No, I really don’t care if I do or don’t.  It’s not that important to me in all honesty, I just needed an outlet.  Well, I get am e-mail saying that one of my designs has been revoked by request of the USMC.  I’m an equal opportunity designer here, I meant no harm or attempted to step on anyone’s toes.  I didn’t use symbols or slogans, I kept it pretty generic and lame.  Well, according to the USMC’s patent and trademark office, they own the word “Marines”.  They don’t claim to own the word “Marine” which is what I used but they were kind enough to throw in a second policy for specific websites that claims that it’s not an exhaustive list of monikers that they are blessed to own and if you have any questions to contact them.  You know what?  I almost did.  Then I decided I didn’t want to argue with them or their legal team but I’m still tempted to send them a pointed email on their “ownership” of the English language and how I’m tempted to trademark my own name just to piss off people who are using it.  I also am interested in seeing their trademark documentation.. but that’s just getting petty.  So for all you marine people, I apologize that you can’t buy some really cool and creative stuff out there because it says “Marine” on it (and I’m not referring to my own, I’m not that awesome).  I really wonder if the Army owns the moniker “Soldier”.  Maybe I’ll just use the word “Grunt” but I’m sure that’s on their “not-exhaustive” list that is vague.

Third failure of the week… the giveaway.  It seems no one is interested in this thing.  That’s fine.  If no one wants it, I’ve got a stepfather who would probably think it’s pretty neat.

Fourth, some of YOUUUU have a system that requires a commenter to put in a captcha phrase.  How did you do that because I’m getting international spam and it’s starting to piss me off.

5 thoughts on “A Week of Failure

  1. Hope you get some good quality time with your hubby soon! To put either word verification or moderation up, go to settings from your dashboard. From there click on comments. You'll be given a bunch of options. Hope that helps!

  2. I tagged you on my blog. 🙂 (and I didn't share your secret)I hope your week starts to look up! I would enter your blog giveaway but I don't feel qualified…:S

  3. Aww that's sweet Mrs. I'll do the post in the next 2 days. And you know what, I don't even feel qualified to have those things. I think I'll just give them away to someone who needs a christmas present this year.

  4. I didnt know about a giveaway! What are the requirements anyways! Hey dont feel bad…ive never even been away from my husband yet, and I dread the day that I will be away from him for 4 and a half months straight right off the bat!…no preparing or anything, just him taken away from me =(…i knows its going to happen, but i dont want time to come, so I can just stay this way forever…=) and one thing I think is funny…the models on the tshirt website..are guys..and it says "My heart belongs to an Airman" Maybe that will give you a little giggle for the day! 😉 Keep your chin up, buttercup! =)

Leave a Reply

