Finally an update + Guest Blogging

I know, I know, I haven’t really been here.  I’m super sorry.  Since I’ve been up since 6:30 this morning, I figure that I’ll update you on my life before I get this show rolling today.

First off, I’m guest blogging on 3 different blogs over the next few weeks.  I’ll post as I find out that they’re up. A serious congrats to all of them.  Erin @ Moore To Love graduated college and is taking a much needed vacation.  J @ It’s a Dog Tag Wife Life is getting MARRIED, the traditional way! Last but not least, Allison @ The Diary of a Mrs. is going to the Mr.’s BMT graduation!  All of you have far more interesting lives than me right now… but, I have done all the things you’re about to do so I can’t really complain!  Have a blast ladies.

Do you read Military Spouse Magazine?  I do.  I steal it from the housing office because I’m there so frequently and this base has like 30 gazillion copies just lying around.  There are so many discounts in there that I wish I would remember to use, so I’m going to make a binder.  I’m a nerd, I’m not sure you know that or not.  Since tomorrow is Sunday, I’ll be grabbing the newspaper in hopes that there is some decent coupons in there (I’m officially starting to coupon).  I may not get into the swing of it just yet but I’ll get there again.  I’ve got a few errands to run today including returning a book to B&N, heading to the post office to pick up shipping boxes for Christmas (It’s only 8 days away!), and hobby lobby because I need something to hand up my Christmas cards on.  Hopefully every year I’ll have more than the last year.

We’ve moved up on the housing list again, much slower than usual this time.  I’m about to stage a protest at the housing office.  There are SO many open houses on base… and when I saw many, I mean like 2 dozen that I verifiably know of.  Some of them have been sitting there for a month+ and no one is moving into them.  I don’t know what goes on behind the scenes but regular people get fired for things like that.  I doubt they look at it from a financial standpoint.  Instead of paying me a BAH, they could just let me live on base and save money.  I just want my house and my dog.

It also appears that I won’t be going home for Christmas this year.  Mainly because of the weather at this point.  Roads around here get shut down completely when the snow is bad.  The last big snow that came in dropped almost a foot of snow in certain areas and picked up steam between here and Indiana.  The roads were ugly here but as you drove east, some of them weren’t even open in certain places in certain states.  The other thing about going home is that I’d have to face my dog and then leave her again.  I don’t know if I can handle that again.

This week has been pretty busy.  I’m not sure if I mentioned my jobs.  Yes, that’s officially plural.  I don’t know if I’m going to be able to pursue both of them, I’d really like to but I might not be able to yet.  The money from job 1 is decent especially if I can get near full-time.  But the money from 2 is also good.  Especially if I work on weekends that aren’t mine, the benefits are decent as well.  I could basically make way more money on job 2 than job 1 but I’m not giving up my dream job for job 2.  This could get interesting especially since job 1 is a NAF job and no one knows what’s going on except the building I’ll be working in and they want me to start on Wednesday…  yeah, 2 days before Christmas (absurd).  Anyway the coolest thing I did this week was this:

This is the Canadian Pacific Holiday Train.  It made a stop here on Thursday.  They collect donations for the food shelters and homeless coalition in town and cruise across the upper northeast (or west).  I don’t know.  I’m not sure if this happens every year but they also have a car that stops at the specific station and has a little concert.  I was SHOCKED… they were actually really good and fun to watch even though it -4 degrees.  If this guy comes through your town, go see it, it’s like polar express (I’ve heard, I’ve never seen the movie).
Some people had much better pictures than me, my camera batteries actually froze out there!

I’ve also got 9 dozen chocolate chip cookies to make and sugar cookies to frost, plus packing these cookies up and a movie night with some of the ladies tonight.  Sheesh.

Happy Weekending!  I’ll announce the winner of my giveaway tomorrow, so today is your last chance.

2 thoughts on “Finally an update + Guest Blogging

  1. That sucks that you still haven't gotten into housing, we actually have a house open just down the street from us, but it's one of the really big (four bedrooms) so it'll be saved for a big family more than likely. If you don't have plans for Christmas you should come over! Idk if you got my facebook invite or not but even if it's just for a little bit you should stop by!

  2. You do have an exciting life. Congrats on your jobs, that's pretty exciting and REALLY absurd that they want you to start on Wednesday…so weird!That sucks that you're not able to go home for Christmas, but I'm sure it'll be easier on you and the furbaby. I sure hope housing gets their butts in gear and you are able to get a house on base so she can move and be with you.

Leave a Reply

