A whole new year

I realize that it’s a little early for New Years’ Resolutions but I’m doing it anyway, mainly because I started already.  And for the record, I generally think that New Years’ Resolutions are stoopid.  But, this year is special.  I’ve got things to accomplish and I can’t until I get a few things done.

1) Declare War On Credit Cards.  If you don’t have them yet, I’d say don’t get them but that’s just not feasible and as an ex-banker it would be stupid not to build your credit.  If you’re getting one, use it once a month for something you’ve budgeted for anyway and then PAY THAT BITCH OFF.

2) Get Unfat. I don’t know if I told you.. but I gained 20 lbs pcs’ing.  I don’t know what happened but I’m super pissed and very much not fitting into my favorite clothing.  I’m doing the pound for pound challenge to benefit local food banks as well with the help of a bunch of women here in Minot.  I’ve pledged to lose 20 lbs by May 31st… I’m really aiming for more than that, I’d like to go 40+.  To aid me in this little endeavor I’m also using myfitnesspal.com.  They have an app for my phone and a HUGE list of foods.  They keep track of weight, exercise, water, calories, fat, blah blah blah.  Take that weightwatchers, these guys are free and don’t send me all those stupid e-mails.  I also have the Zumba DVD’s & Video Game.. Plus I already go twice a week (hopefully/usually).  With the move to base, this could be an easier thing to accomplish.  Plus there’s always a dog walk until it gets -40.

3) Stop Smoking.  Yes, I’m a smoker (gasp!).  People as hostile as me need some type of outlet.  Speaking of, I’d like one right now.  This one will actually be the hardest.  While I’m addicted to food, nicotine is something special.  Special confession:  I’ve been a smoker since 2002.  Yeah, that’s almost 9 years.  I vowed to myself that I wouldn’t start having children until AFTER I quit smoking.  It’s getting to be about that time… after a great vacation of course.

4) $1000 in my Savings Account. Self-Explanatory.

I really do have some sort of hodgepodge version of a plan here but with the whole starting a new job thing.. I’m not sure how the pay part is going to work and the stress is really ruining #2.

So what are your New Years’ Resolutions??

One thought on “A whole new year

  1. Read your guest blog on "Moore to Love" and had to come check you out. Both my boyfriend and I recently quit smoking by going to the smoking cessation class they offer on base. They prescribe Chantix, which has zero nicotine in it. I have been smoke free for 9 months (had smoked for 3 years) and Handsome Devil has been smoke free for 1 month (smoked for 5 years). Plus the class and Chantix are 100% free.Anyways, good luck to you on your New Years resolutions!!

Leave a Reply

