Happy New Years!

Random things I love just to finish out 2010 on a positive note:

The 3M Filtrete Water Station

I don’t like water bottles, my car collects water bottles, my husband drinks a bazillion bottles of water a day and I get mad at him because those things aren’t free or cheap.  LOVE this thing, fill them up, put them in the fridge and drink as needed.  I don’t glare at him when he empties one, the bottle isn’t going in a landfill.  I got mine for 30 something at wal-mart and then picked up spare bottles for like 14 bucks.  Plus, inside the thingee mabobber box, there is a coupon for a free bottle or filter if you share your thoughts.

My new house

I can’t wait to move in.  Soon, soon, soon.  We have new upstairs, across the hall neighbors in our circa 1950’s 4-plex (maybe the ’70’s).  They are loud, like elephant loud.  They stomp up and down all the stairs from the back all the way to the front.  They’ve also been doing laundry constantly since they moved in… 6 days ago.  We successfully intercepted the laundry room once.  Tonight, I officially became “that” person.  You know, that person who gets so annoyed that you’ve left your laundry in the dryer for 3 hours that they take out your shit and throw it on top of the dryer?!  Yea, that was me.  In my defense I did not know they were still doing laundry because when I left earlier they were flipping a load, there was no basket, no detergent, nothing.  I used the washer and when my was load was done I found their CRAP in the dryer.  I’d been home for 3 hours, no noise in the laundry room.  Oh and then they went into the laundry room when they heard the dryer turn back on, noisy.. again.  Trying to figure out why their stuff was on top of the dryer and mine was still wet.  CANNOT WAIT TO MOVE!!

Cheesy Chicken Croissants

When I was a kid, a neighbor’s mom made these things.  I FINALLY found a recipe for them and LOVE them.  Did I mention I was a kid and ate these things?  There are like 100 variations of this but I’ll give you mine which is my quick version of this.

1/2 lb. shredded/chopped/diced chicken cooked (I boil/steam)
3/4 c. shredded cheddar
1 can cream of chicken
1 can campbell’s cheddar soup (or whatever the equivalent)
1 can of croissants
salt and pepper

Preheat over to 375
Mix chicken, 1/2 c. shredded cheese and salt and pepper to taste
Fill croissants with mixture (you’ll have to stretch them) then make sure the ends are completely sealed
Put both soups in a square or bigger casserole/glass dish, stir them up add some cheese if you feel like it
Arrange stuffed croissants in baking dish, dash with some cheese (optional)
Cook for 25-35 minutes

My oven takes longer sometimes, just make sure that the croissants that are touching each other are cooked, add some more cheese to the top, cook for like 3 minutes.  I can never fit all the mix into the croissants so I throw it on top of everything during the baking.  I love these things and so does the husband.  Pillsbury has a recipe too, if you like cream of mushroom (eww…) and they use velveeta (also kinda eww..) but they’re still pretty good.

Have a safe and happy new year!  Don’t drive drunk, I’d like to see you all in 2011.

Leave a Reply

