It MUST be Friday!

If it wasn’t Friday, I would not have received my pre-subscribed email from Wife Of A Sailor for the Friday Fill-In.

What is your favorite MilSpouse blog (not including Wife of a Sailor who we all love, or your own)?

I can’t pick one, I love all of them… if I didn’t I wouldn’t be reading them.

What are your favorite perks about your s/o being deployed (we all know there are perks)?

We haven’t been deployed yet, but I’m looking forward to the weight loss again.  I gained all mine back which sucks but that’s because I’m not going to zumba right now because of my stupid work schedule.  I’ll get back to my happier weight.

How long did you date your before getting engaged? Married?

We dated forever! Well, we’ve been dating since 2004 so that makes this year 7 years.  So 5.5 ish or so, I wouldn’t even say we were ever engaged because he didn’t ask, we just went and bought the ring in January of 2010 and on 13 Mar 10 we got married and I got my engagement ring the same day.  I’m still rocking the engagement ring and I don’t have my wedding band yet but he does.

What do you think your would do if s/he wasn’t in the military?

I can tell you that it wouldn’t be anything good.  We’ve done the non-military thing before but he fits better in the military.  His non-military job choices are pretty awful and he’s never satisfied.

If you could talk to the Secretary of the Navy what is one suggestion you would like to bring to their attention in order to improve the lives of military families?
 
In all honesty, it would be the pay.  He didn’t get chosen for officer so he enlisted but the student loan situation sucks.  If we could erase some student loans, I’d be a much happier camper.  10k for student loan repayment is not exactly fantastic and since I’ll be using his GI Bill and getting more out of it than he will, that wasn’t an option.  They base pay is crap and even combined with all the other pays, he’s still making less and I’m no longer in a career job so I’m making less.  Maybe I should change the name of my blog to Married my poorman.  Hahaha.  But we manage, so that’s the important thing.  I just wish that he had decided to do this sooner and not have waited so long and had so many student loans by the time he went in.  A Master’s Degree is expensive.

On an unrelated side post!!

I made it back to Indiana and I’m currently hanging out with Bailey, my wonderpup.  We will be heading back to ND on Sunday as a family (oh and it’s totally going to snow… argh) after my birthday party on Saturday night.  I’m really getting old.  The drive was completely uneventful and long which I’ll score as a victory.  Other than that, I’m currently just eating now that I’m here, I’ve missed Jimmy John’s, Dunkin Donuts, and Panera and all those other great things in life.  Superman wants me to bring him JJ’s, his firehouse wants DD, and half my friends are begging for DD.  It’s really hilarious.  I’m not sure what will make it back but we’ll see.  The dog has no idea what is about to happen.  She’s going to be transplanted from 62 degrees yesterday in Indiana, to -3 in ND currently where they were having blizzard like conditions yesterday.  I’ll be amazed if she gets out of the car.  Anyway, life is happy right now.  I’m on vacation from work, I met my niece, I’m having a birthday party, I get to see some of the family and my dog is returning with me.  Oh and if any of you remember the baby mama drama post that included my stepsister, that should be updated to say that she unfriended me on facebook.  My almost 40 year old stepsister unfriended me on facebook.  What the eff ever.  I’m not dealing with this crap and I’m also not justifying her in any way, shape or form.  She’s worse than the milSpouses on base…. but that’s a whole different post for a different day.

4 thoughts on “It MUST be Friday!

  1. Some people never grow up {or realize facebook isn't real life!} My 50 something aunt un friended me over some ridiculousness. Glad to hear you're reunited with your pup!

Leave a Reply

