Diet Pills

How many of you know people who are on some type of diet pill?  How many of you have taken one before? 

It seems that the circles that run in proximity to mine (and I’m sure you’ve seen it as well), LOVE their diet pills.  I have a friend who sells one, she really seems to like it… other people really seem to like it too.  I read the ingredients on it and wasn’t super impressed and hell, I tried it.  It has this fantastic ability to make you not hungry.  Not even just not hungry but downright full off of nothing.  It was kinda weird.

Anyway, she made a facebook group for all these people who were interested in it.  It’s more of a desperation group of people who are just fed up with being heavier and lack the motivation to change their lives.  I’m probably one of them too, but whatever.

I read these conversations of people who are frustrated that they aren’t losing any weight and blah blah blah… and then someone admits that their first meal was at 7pm that night.  Yeah, you heard that right, they ate dinner… that’s it.  WHAT THE HELL!?  They are all talking about how they only eat once a day or they don’t feel like they’re losing the weight.  But here’s the thing… they aren’t doing anything about it.  They’re taking a pill and eating less food (not sure what they eat at dinner though).  Ideally, this might work… except that they’re not even eating the recommended minimum calories, hell they aren’t even breaking 1000 calories.  None of them seem to realize that starving themselves (even though they can’t feel it) isn’t healthy and is a serious cause for alarm. 

I’m not nutritional guru, I have my faults.  I love chocolate and doritos, albeit, I don’t eat them very often — especially the doritos.  I know that I’m not super skinny or in shape and I can’t run a marathon for multiple reasons.  I know that I’m having issues staying on any type of program, much less losing any weight… but I’m not starving myself and I’m not eating crap constantly.

It’s like they don’t realize that fruit snacks are not a fruit.  That cookies should be eaten in severe moderation, not a whole row — yeah, you know EXACTLY what I’m talking about.  Chips are not a good snack food.  I know all of this.  I don’t eat super healthy all the time, but I couldn’t tell you the last time I had fried chicken, or a twinkie, a brownie, or even real ice cream.  I like some of that stuff, but my life does not depend on it.  The girls that work in my work cafeteria know me as the girl who buys the vegetables because sometimes that’s what I eat for dinner. 

They’re making me crazy and no one seems to understand that you can’t just NOT eat.  It’s called an eating disorder for a reason.  I understand no one wants to be a tundra wookie, but seriously… they just don’t understand you can’t starve yourself and it’ll work.

Please don’t develop an eating disorder… much less teach your kids how to do it.

2 thoughts on “Diet Pills

  1. I could not agree with you more. I too have tried my fair share of diets and pills. I have one question though… What do you mean fruit snacks aren't real fruit?! Since when? 😉

  2. Tundra wookie…lmao! Oh I love your sense of humor. I think Minot just has that effect on people (myself included). Something about the endless winter, mind numbing lack of civilization, and a whole bunch of other people feeling the same way, that just makes it seem socially acceptable to eat, look, and act like a pig. And then complain about your situation. I'm certainly at fault for gaining a whole lotta Minot weight, and even after having been living in another state for almost a year I have still not gotten rid of it. My husband on the other hand, being a man, has had a much easier time, but we're both striving to better ourselves. It's just a process. Don't let Minot suck you into it's black hole of death!

Leave a Reply

