Prepping for Kadena (only crazy people do this)

First off, can I just tell you that even thinking about what I should pack vs. ship vs. let movers take to Kadena is quite possibly the most maddening thing I have ever encountered in my life.  So, I am pretty much trying not to think about it.  I am over here trying to rack my brain because we are going to have to create a baby shower registry here pretty soon and I don’t even know where to begin to put stuff on it because we aren’t going to have access to it for like 2 months or however long it takes to get your shit over there.  So basically, I’m gonna have a newborn and then I’m going to have a 4 month old.  How the hell do you plan for that?!  I also tried to check to see if Babies ‘R Us ships overseas and I gave up… probably from exhaustion.  I even tried to check their Japanese site, but alas, I don’t read Kanji (or I think it’s Kanji).  I realize I’m completely stressing out over a non-issue right now, but I can’t really help it nor do I know how to change it.  I mean how the hell do you get a stroller over there… something that can’t sit up cannot sit in a collapsible umbrella stroller.  Then, what does it sleep in?  I’m not about to start co-sleeping (the dog already sleeps there and I would like SOME sleep) just to save a piece of furniture, but can you take one of those bassinet/pack and play things on an airplane?!?! Is it sad that I don’t even care about my OWN stuff… give me some undergarments, my laptop, my nook tablet, a few tank tops and some capris/jeans/sweatshirts/t-shirts and flip flops I’m pretty much good to go.  ARGH.  Maddening I tell you, absolutely maddening.  There’s the secret to getting orders everyone, buy an appliance you can’t take with (we bought a washer a month or 2 ago) and get pregnant.  BAM.  Orders.  By the way, anyone know how expensive it is to ship things over there?  I have a pretty serious hygiene coupon hoard that I’m not sure I’m willing to part with and I hear TMO won’t take a liquid (will they take them in plastic bags?? I’ve got those too!!)

On the plus side, I did manage to procure a kennel for the dog that was IATA certified.  I’m sure she’ll be super thrilled.  I’m pretty sure she’s going to move out when she sees it delivered today.  I love our facebook yard sale site… She’s not kennel trained.  Hell, she’s terrified of kennels and anything with a closed door (try putting her in a room to vacuum — the world comes to a screeching halt).  She panics and I’m pretty sure she’s claustrophobic.  The last time she was in a kennel she rolled it across the room, with herself in it.. oh, and she managed to open the zip-up one and proceed to prance around laughing at it… I have no idea how.  She panics.

I’m pretty sure this is what happens.

So now, we will spend the next 7-9 months or whatever we have acclimating her to a crate.  I may or may not be using food as an incentive… and not just dog food, I’m gonna throw a frickin’ t-bone steak in there and make her like it (in her own time of course).  But, regardless, she’s gonna have to figure it out and if I have to trick her with her favorite food items…so be it.

Oh and let’s talk about the stupid thing I did this week… just for fun.

At the end of last week, I made Crock Pot French Dip sandwiches (without the alcohol).. and I used our pepper grinder… needless to say the pepper grinder has not been seen or heard from since then.  I’m almost 100% positive I put it in the trash can.  Then I proceeded to accuse and berate Superman as to what he had done with the pepper until he reminded me that the eggs he so graciously cooked me the next day for breakfast had no pepper on them because he couldn’t find it.  Now… I miss pepper like crazy.  It’s a sad day.  And I really don’t want to buy a new pepper grinder.  It’s not nearly as laughable as the keys in the dishwasher, but it’s still a pain in the ass.  Who throws away a HALF-FULL PEPPER GRINDER?!?!  Me.  That’s who.  We are officially on 7 days without the pepper grinder, I’m confident that it’s legitimately gone.

2 thoughts on “Prepping for Kadena (only crazy people do this)

  1. TMO will not move your liquids, so yes, if you want to keep any, you'll have to ship them yourself. They were even concerned about my CANDLES because they said they might melt and almost didn't take them. They have a lot of rules, so be prepared. Good luck with figuring out how to pack for baby, I have no idea how to go about that, but I'm sure you'll figure it out. You have plenty of time, don't stress yet! 🙂

  2. I wish I had some advice on what to do when it comes to PCSing OCONUS, we've only done CONUS moves. But how exciting to be moving to Japan!

Leave a Reply

