Maybe I don’t hate Minot…

In the last couple of months I’ve found myself defending this city and state.  Would I return here to retire?  Absolutely not. 

We’ve got a lot of new people getting orders here, moving here, etc. and they’re all asking questions about life, housing, etc.  I’m used to it, I asked a bunch of questions.  But I’m so sick of people trash talking the town and the people.  The people are too nice for their own good.  They would bend over backwards for you.  If you get your car stuck in a ditch, some random person will tow you out if they can, where else does that happen?!  I know exactly why people retire here.  I get it.  Do the winters suck?  Usually.  But so what?!  It’s cold, there’s a lot of snow, go find something to do and shut up. 

God forbid you don’t have a huge mall for these idiots to go shopping in constantly.  I’m sure that’s exactly what they need to do… spend more money at the mall on crap that you don’t actually need.  Yes, blow your paycheck right off the bat and worry about how you’re going to buy groceries.  So what if you don’t have the choice of 100 different types of capris?  You could be overseas where you’re fighting with everyone for the same items at the BX.  Or better yet, you could be in that dead-end hometown you wanted to leave so badly.

Yes, the base bores me.  Yes, I wish food, etc. was closer but this isn’t where I grew up.  This isn’t my town/state/hometown therefore, I don’t feel like I can bitch and moan about it.  I’m a visitor in a state that is a little behind the times but at the same time, no one has ever gotten angry at me for being 5 minutes late for work.  People help you around here and you’re generally safe wherever you go.  I can go shopping at night, alone and not be freaked out… people don’t jump our fence and try and rob the shoppette.  You can leave your car running in the winter and it will be there when you come back. 

Instead of whining and bitching about your location, make the best of it.  You don’t have to love it and even better, you don’t have to live there.  There is no one forcing you to PCS.  Yes, your spouse is forced, but you are not.  If you don’t want to go, don’t.  Stay somewhere else and make it work and if you don’t want to, reconsider your life.  But stop running around talking trash about your duty assignment.  There is a constructive way to do it and a poisonous way to do it.  Be constructive not destructive.

2 thoughts on “Maybe I don’t hate Minot…

  1. I couldn't agree more! I am definitely one of the ones that asked you a lot of questions, but it was mostly about housing! LOL! Before moving up here we heard so much crap about this place and how we were going to hate it…but I actually like it! It's just a small town full of wonderful people! And it is what you make of it! I look at it as a new adventure and enjoy every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

