Introducing Baby Danger!

Well, I’ve been missing for a few days… and here’s why:

Introducing Baby Danger

I am no longer pregnant!  Last week I got struck down with the stomach flu.  It was awful.  I started having contractions from the dehydration and managed to get those under control and they subsided for a few days.  I informed my mom who booked a plane ticket for Sunday so she wouldn’t miss it.  By Friday night, I had a few more so I went to bed.  I was tired and seriously didn’t feel like dealing with them again.  Saturday morning I woke up at 0600 (booo!) having more contractions.  After 90 minutes of 5-8 minutes I called L&D and just kinda asked WHEN you come in for these things, lol.  Remember?  I’m a FTM.  I have NO idea what I’m doing here.  I was kinda just hoping they’d subside so that my mom would make it in time.. nope.  They just kinda got closer, stayed at the 5 minute mark.  Superman came home and his first words were, “what are you doing awake already?”  I just kinda stared at him and said, “don’t ask.”  He sat on the couch with me during some of the most painful things I’ve ever experienced in my life.  The back labor was horrendous, I seriously thought I was dying but knew I wasn’t.  My favorite part of the contractions were that between them, I felt like a normal person.  I took a hot shower hoping that the pain would subside because I knew damn well that tylenol wasn’t going to help.  I packed my bag (yeah, it wasn’t packed yet) and waddled around the house trying not to die.  Ok, so I wasn’t going to die ever but those things HURT.  Finally made it to L&D around noon.  Had my epidural within the next hour and it was fantastic.  I am neither brave enough or willing enough to go through back labor without pain meds.  Bravo to all of you natural people… I just couldn’t do it nor had I intended to.  Five days prior to this my due date buddy went completely natural.  I have no idea how she did it, but I’m in awe.

After 14 hours and 40 minutes of contractions, 2 epidurals and 3 hours of pushing (my super awesome – no sarcasm– doc actually left and ran some errands during my pushing, lol) out pops Baby Danger.  He entered the world face down instead of face up, got stuck in my pelvis, and was green.  Apparently, the flu had taken a toll on him.  Had I had any other doc in the hospital, he would have made me have a c-section.  I am incredibly thankful for my doctor and during discharge was actually incredibly sad when I realized that I don’t get to go see him anymore.  Yeah, that’s where my emotions are right now, lol.  I love my doctor.  He was absolutely fantastic, he’s smart, logical, and let me call the shots unless there was a medical necessity to override it and we even discussed that in detail during labor.  I had some amazing nurses, amazing doctors, and more importantly Superman stepped up in a way I never could have imagined.  I am in awe of him on a daily basis.  He’s currently cuddling with Baby D on the couch while they both sleep so that I can get some things done.  He’s amazing.

So for Christmas, we did nothing.  We spent the day holding our son and spending time together (with my mom).  I’ll never forget this Christmas and I’m super thankful that even with the complications during delivery, I brought home a healthy, sleepy, perfect boy.  The best part?  We got discharged on Christmas Eve so we got to spend the holiday at home and not in the hospital.

I hope yours was good, it probably wasn’t as good as ours, but we’re not bragging, I swear, lol.

5 thoughts on “Introducing Baby Danger!

  1. Congrats!!! He is SO cute. Your labor sounds like mine did. And I felt the same way about my dr once I left TX and we got to Colorado. Makes me so sad I can't see him any more. Enjoy your time while he's tiny. They grow so fast!! When are you guys leaving? Love the fire trucks too by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

