Investing

Since we moved to Japan and I became a full-time SAHM/W and sans employment, I’ve been trying to get my 401k rolled over successfully to my new IRA at USAA.  Wow, that sounds really technical.  Let me just tell you, it is.  Superman changed his TSP elections a few months ago after given the green light to increase from the household accountant (me).  Then, before we left the states, we (I) called USAA and had a conversation with them about rolling my 401k, getting an investment account for Superman, and overall just chatting about accounts, insurance, and such.  

Since we were moving to Japan, we were told that they have some weird rules about opening certain types of accounts when you’re over there.  Now whether that is the case or not, I’m not really sure, sometimes I don’t think they know what they’re talking about over there.  

Example: Supposedly you cannot use your renters insurance to pay for damages to your base housing, but I know 2 people that have.  Also, when asking one of their CSR’s about using my debit card overseas and any fees that would take place because of currency exchanges because we were PCSing… he asked me what a PCS was.  He better have been brand new because I sorta expect more from a military driven bank.

Anyway, I’m derailing here.  We ended up dropping our car insurance on both cars because we aren’t driving either one of them, one has been sold and mine is with my MIL who is paying for it and has insured it.  We added a traveling auto insurance policy that covers us on all the cars we MIGHT drive if we go on leave, rental cars, and keeps us as having an active auto insurance policy so we don’t have a lapse in coverage.  On top of all of that, I opened 2 IRA’s.  One for me and one for him.  When he realized he had an active IRA, he changed his allotments so that he had an automatic deposit of $50/mo. into his IRA on top of his TSP contributions.  Well, now I’m jealous.  So i put $50 in mine. HAH!  And I’m going to keep putting $50 in mine, monthly, as if I were still working (although that contribution would be more).

I also realize now that I am completely ill-prepared for my financial future.  I know nothing about investing, the stock market, dividends, mutual funds, savings bonds, etc.  I told them I just wanted a safe account to keep my money.  Ok, in all fairness, I’m not completely oblivious to the market.  I just don’t know how to use it.  I’ve always wanted to play the stock market but I was always chicken to use real money.  My dad was a floor trader at the Chicago Board of Exchange when I was a kid.  He knows exactly what the stocks mean, I do not.  I get the up and down and each share costs this much and blah blah blah, I understand the concept of buying and selling but the actual hands-on application of it, I don’t know how to do that either.  I thought it would be fun to be a day trader at one point, but hah, that would require guts and knowing something.

Someone told me about a website that lets you play the real stock market with fake money.  It’s like a simulator game based on real world conditions.  I have every intention of signing up for an account and learn about investing at wallstreetsurvivor.com, I mean what do I have to lose?  Not my own money.  Hah!  Maybe then I’ll figure it all out.  It’s not like I don’t have the time between my 1 load of laundry and dishes a day.

 

signature

Leave a Reply

