Being Thankful

There are days in my life I am so irritated with the military or overwhelmed with life that I forget to be grateful for what I have and my experiences.  

Today I was headed back to base after stopping at a farmers market and egg zoo to get some essentials.  I saw a fighter take off as I was coming back.  As a firefighter wife I’m supposed to care about fire trucks, I don’t.  Most of us don’t.  But I have an overwhelming sense of awe and pride when I see our planes take off.  I used to just stare at the buffs and now I curse the 22’s.  

I am awed by those planes (and they’re really loud).  But I have a sense of pride every single time I drive on a base.  I’m proud to be part of a community that understands the sacrifice these folks make.  I am thankful that I have the opportunity to live in paradise.  I am thankful I get to stay home with Baby Danger until I’m ready to go back to work.  As I type this he’s napping in the backseat of the car and I’m patiently waiting for him to wake up so I can go pay our Internet bill.  I’m thankful that Superman is generally safe and has a sense of purpose. 
We are safe, healthy, experiencing new things constantly, and are not flat broke.  I can’t ask for more than that.  I am grateful that we have the life we have and I can live my life as I see fit (mostly).
What are you grateful or thankful for?
Leave a Reply

